Friday, April 13, 2012

New banknotes in circulation from July 16

File pix by Aizuddin Saad.

KUALA LUMPUR: Bank Negara Malaysia yesterday announced that new Malaysian banknotes will enter circulation from July 16.

In a statement, the central bank said the banknotes series, themed, "distinctively Malaysia", is in denominations of RM1, RM5, RM10, RM20 and RM100."

The current RM50 banknote has been in circulation since December 2007 and will continue to do so.

"Bank Negara said in preparation for the issuance of the new banknotes, it had been working closely with financial institutions, businesses, cash handling vendors and local councils since December last year, to facilitate a smooth transition."

Numerous engagement sessions were held with these stakeholders."- Bernama

No comments:

Post a Comment

click if you like it

Free Personal signatures - cool!

Related Posts with Thumbnails